You are here

Beware of fake Facebook Tag notifications

18th July 2012

Be wary of fake emails claiming to be from Facebook saying that you have been tagged in a photograph.

If you click on the link within the email, you are not taken immediately to the real Facebook website but instead taken to a site designed to infect your computer with malware. 

Within four seconds of clicking on the link your website browser is redirected to a Facebook page of a presumably entirely innocent individual.

If you look closely the email comes from a misspelt URL, mailto:[email protected]

The email reads as follows;

Subject: Christine McLain Gibs tagged a photo of you on Facebook

Hi,

“Christine McLain Gibs” has added a photo of you 

 [See Photo] [See All Notifications]

Security on Facebook

Never click on links you can’t verify and always check to see if the spelling is correct. 

Action Fraud is also reminding Facebook users that clicking on suspect  links can result in unwittingly giving scammers access to your personal information, which can result in identity theft and fraud.

Read more about the tag notifications on the Sophos website.

Please note: Action Fraud is not responsible for the content on external websites.

To report a fraud, call Action Fraud on 0300 123 2040 or use our online fraud reporting tool.

Related Links

What is Malware?
New Android Trojan discovered in Google Play